- Written by Administrator
- Category: ROOT
- Published: 07 July 2009
- Last Updated: 07 July 2009
- Created: 07 July 2009
The King Caesar House at 120 King Caesar Road is open Wednesdays through Sundays, 1-4 p.m. until the end of August, as well as weekends in September. The house was built in 1809 for Ezra Weston II, known as â€œKing Caesarâ€ for his worldwide preeminence as a shipbuilder and merchant. Westonâ€™s enterprise dominated Duxbury in the early 19th century with a large portion of the population employed in the Weston shipyards, farms, wharves, mill, ropewalk, or aboard Westonâ€™s fishing schooners and merchant fleet. The house is noted for its rare French scenic wallpapers, portraits of sea captains, and 19th century furnishings. The Potter Gallery at the King Caesar House features rotating exhibits. This summerâ€™s exhibits are â€œChildhoodâ€ and â€œNeedlework and the Sea.â€ Admission to the King Caesar House is $5 for adults and $3 for seniors/students.
The Gershom Bradford House at 931 Tremont Street belonged to four generations of Bradfords before the last generation gave it to the Society in 1968. Captain Gershom Bradford (1774-1844), who built the house, commanded more than 10 merchant vessels before retiring in 1826 to lead an active life ashore. The Bradford family, out of respect for the Captain, changed almost nothing in the house. It was donated to the Society with original furnishings, dÃ©cor and personal objects. A fascinating time capsule, the house allows the visitor to observe the home of a successful Duxbury mariner much as he left it in 1844. The regular hours of the Gershom Bradford House are Saturdays and Sundays, 1-4 p.m. through the end of August. Admission to the Bradford House is $3 for adults and $1 for seniors/students.
Tours are also available by appointment. For more information, visit the Societyâ€™s Web site at www.duxburyhistory.org or call 781-934-6106.